Jul 30, 2014

Posted by | 2 Comments

DWI Rules in Texas

Drunk driving accidents are generally the subject of many civil lawsuits. In the state of Texas, driving while intoxicated (DWI) is considered a Class B Misdemeanor – considered to be the second most severe category for misdemeanor offences, in line with theft and drug possession. It is illegal to drive any vehicle while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs or medication, therefore it helps to understand the laws and penalties regarding DWI in the state of Texas. This information would be vital in defending yourself from a DWI charge.

The state of Texas uses Blood Alcohol Concentration or BAC to decide the level of intoxication during the operation of the vehicle. For motorists at and over the age or 21, the BAC limits are at .08 percent, commercial drivers have BAC limits of .04 percent, and any detectable amount of alcohol in drivers younger than 21 years old is chargeable with DWI. The state of Texas follows zero-tolerance law for minors and alcohol.

Penalties for DWI can depend on certain factors such as age, type of driver’s license, and other possible factors that are related to the charges. The most common penalties for DWI in Texas are fines and surcharges, imprisonment, revocation or suspension of driver’s license, community service, higher car insurance, and DWI education and/or seminar programs. When you have been caught and convicted of DWI in Texas, you have no option for a “plea bargain.” A DWI conviction can put your finances, freedom, and even your future at risk.

The effects of alcohol is different from person to person; the number of drinks, type of beverage, age, sex, boy type, and other considerations can come into play that would affect the driver. Being charged with DWI does not necessarily mean a conviction, therefore finding a good Austin DWI lawyer can help in facing the challenge of the charges held against you, and may even help in reducing your penalties or cancel the charges altogether.

Read More